New benchmark for speaking Vietnamese

Learning Vietnamese is really difficult I have decided. As a native English speaker I have now determined a new benchmark for learning the language.

And that benchmark is being able to say the Vietnamese words for ten, nose and mosquito without having to repeat myself half a dozen times before admitting defeat and reverting to sign language. To explain, these three words are very similar: mười, mũi, muỗi, with only subtle inflections to mark them out as distinct. Hear for yourself on Google Translate by clicking the speaker icon.

learning Vietnamese

This new measure, I suppose, is a bit like deciding you can use chopsticks properly when you can eat beer nuts with them. I have a lot of respect for chopsticks (đôi đũa). They are the Swiss Army knife of the East. You can deploy them in eating, cooking, stirring and a whole host of other things including puncturing a milk carton after breaking the plastic ring pull. I added that to the list yesterday morning while my bowl of cornflakes waited expectantly.

Meanwhile, as if the subtleties of the Vietnamese language isn’t taxing my brain as it is, I recently met sisters who are called Thuý  and Thuỷ – pronounced Twee; the first with an upward emphasis on the vowel sounds and the latter pronounced like a question.

According to some people, though, I struggle with English. I therefore apologise in advance for murdering the Vietnamese language. A friend of mine reckons she is the only person in Hanoi who understands my Vietnamese. I think she is exaggerating a little bit.

While I have in the past been accused variously of speaking Vietnamese with a Chinese and Korean accent, I have discovered that being Scottish does give me an advantage over UK compatriots from the extreme south. I can produce the -ch sound as it is identical to loch. If your best stab at Loch Lomond is Lock Lomond then you have another hill to climb learning Vietnamese. Sorry.

Do you agree? Let me know now

