Hà Nội Scribbles

Writing & Living in Hanoi, Vietnam

All quiet on the Eastern Front

Well, this is a bit embarrassing. I haven’t written a blog post in months. In fact, not one this year until now.

And my website, onlinewords.co.uk has been equally neglected also on the basis of being “too busy.” Strangely, though I have somehow managed the time to update Facebook and my two Instagram feeds, Hanoi Scribbles and Doors of Vietnam.

So I am not sure what that says about me these days.

However, with the first quarter of 2021 drawing to a close and all that, I decided it was time to have a rethink about my web presence.

As far as I can see, I have a few options.

A) Combine the blog and website on WordPress, and point the domain name to the new amalgamated site. However, I remain to be convinced it won’t prove to be a dog’s breakfast.

B) Leave things as they are; only update them more often. I am not convinced entirely by this argument as my site is on a basic web builder package with a limited number of pages. Currently, many pages are getting quite scrolly. And I am not completely satisfied that the existing site is particularly mobile-friendly.

C) Find another free home for the website with more pages and flexibility. I am currently looking into that now and narrowing down the field.

Or some other solution I haven’t heard about yet.*

Whichever option I decide to go for, it has, I suspect, not to involve too much time. That is going to be a rare and precious commodity. Any free time is currently being spent doing things that don’t involve any more laptop screen time.

From that perspective, I strongly expect that it will be Option 2 – leave things as they are unless there’s a pressing need to take action to avoid the expenditure of time and money. Sometimes the status quo isn’t such a bad thing after all.

Image credit:

“Tumbleweeds” by Ðenise is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Do you agree? Let me know now

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2021 by in blogging, Business, onlinewords, writing and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 26,743 hits